Friday, June 4, 2010

Vex - Redux (A Black Gold Production) (2010)

Producer Vex clashes his soulful Pittsburgh sound with a variety recognizable hip-hop vocals on this Black Gold Production remix project.

01. Intro
02. Busta Rhymes ft. Q Tip & Marsha Ambrosious - Get U Some
03. Common - Dooinit
04. Royce da 5'9 - Hip Hop
05. Jadakiss - Kiss Of Death
06. Jay Z - Blue Magic
07. Phat Kat - Nasty
08. The Roots - Glitches
09. Little Dragon - Scribbled Paper
10. Slum Village - Get Dis Money


The first remix, and one of the best on the album, is that of Busta Rhymes' single "Get U Some." Marsha's vocals allow Vex to take advantage of his production strength, creating a boom-bap-soul heatrock.

Songs like Royce's "Hip-Hop" are tough to remix, because the DJ Premier produced original is a classic, but Vex does the song justice by giving it a funky yet rugged edge.

On "Blue Magic," Vex crafts the instrumental to Jay-Z's smooth, effortless delivery, outdoing the original Neptunes produced single.

As a sucker for female vocalists, Little Dragon's "Scribbled Paper" remix instantly sticks out as one of the better cuts on the album. Vex intertwines his signature sound into the relaxing vocals of Little Dragon singer Yukimi Nagano, giving a hunger for more work similar to this.

Here more from Vex on Bandcamp!

No comments: